Murphy’s Law Kind of World

Today has been a Murphy’s Law kind of day. You know – those days where everything that can go wrong, will go wrong.

From insomnia that kept me up until 3AM, to waking up late, to not finding my keys, to having to walk to the bus stop in a drizzle that became a downpour, to my soaking wet shoes breaking a blister on my foot, to burning my tongue on my cider – it has been a rough morning. And it’s not even 10AM yet!

Oh well, enough of me blubbering about my rough morning, I want to talk about the news. Last night and this morning plastered all over my social media is the news that Dwayne Wade is going to be playing for the Chicago Bulls. I can’t really imagine the Heat without Wade, he’s been part of our city and our team for as long as I can remember. But here’s the thing, he’s just an employee leaving one company and going to another. I mean while I love the Miami Heat (mostly just because it’s my home team), Wade and Wade county will be fine. There’s a lot more devastating things going on in the world.

For instance Eid al-Fitr, the end of Ramadan, just passed earlier this week. For millions of Muslims around the world this was supposed to be a time of celebration. Instead the religious holiday has been observed with a somber and mournful air because this weekend hundreds of Muslims were killed in a bombing in Baghdad. According to this site the death toll is at over 281. (Note: many of the links in this article have images or videos of the events I am speaking about.)

281 people, humans, mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, daughters, sons, cousins – dead.

This blow hits after 44 were killed and 200 hundred others were injured in Istanbul (article).

And before that, a little closer too home, a lot closer in my case, another shooting was splattered across headlines and trending tags- the Pulse nightclub shooting. Four hours from my home 50 people were gunned down, 53 more were injured, they were celebrating life and were targeted for who they were.

For the past month I have woken up almost every morning to notices of shootings, deaths, profiling, prejudice, and discrimination. This week I woke up to the news that two black men (Philando Castile and Alton Sterling) were, based on the videos, facilitated by police officers (yes, I am intentionally being P.C.).

How is this okay? I mean, obviously it’s not, but why is it that we don’t do anything (me included)?

I avoided the news for the past ten years or so because I couldn’t bear to hear the horrors and I didn’t need to know about the thousands of people who are being killed in the name of difference. But this is a presidential election year and I’m actually able to vote for the first time, so I had to start paying attention.

What I’ve noticed? A lot of things suck. From Dilma in Brazil to the US Presidential Election to the hundreds of terrorist attacks around the world. I don’t particularly like the world I’ve come to age in and I’m not sure what I can do to change that.

What I do know? We need to stop make everything about me or them. I have friends on just about every continent right now and they have their own network of friends and so on and so on. The world is made up of us, of we, not them, not me.

So my condolences go out to every person who has felt loss because of prejudice. Please remember to be safe and loving, and good luck navigating this world as everything that can go wrong, goes wrong.

One thought on “Murphy’s Law Kind of World

Leave a Reply

